Thunder represented in NICC wins

Posted on

Hannah Darlington, Tyran Liddiard, Ben Patterson, Nathaniel Jones, Yarran Fair-Townsend, Damien Duroux, Marty Jeffrey, Brock Larance, Brynley Richards all part of the NSW Indigenous teams that have won the Women’s and Men’s National Indigenous Cricket Championships.

Darlington became the first player to graduate from the WBBL Academy as she joined the Sydney Thunder WBBL|03 squad and the all-rounder played an important role in NSW’s success, with 9 wickets at an average of 7.4 and a top score of 61 not-out.

Players from the Thunder Indigenous XI featured heavily in the NSW Men’s campaign. Ben Patterson scored 140 runs at an average of 35 and claimed 10 wickets, with best figures of 5-for-18. Brynley Richards led NSW to victory in the final with 55 and a tournament average of 51.7

Tyran Liddiard, who captained the Thunder Indigenous XI against the Hobart Hurricanes Indigenous side earlier in the season, enjoyed the experience of the NICC, after a tough loss in the final last year.

“It was one of the greatest feelings. We were pretty close as a team, which made us hard to beat and it was an experience I’ll never forget”, Liddiard said after his fourth time playing in the tournament.

“Playing with the Thunder Indigenous XI (earlier in the season) is another opportunity I’ll cherish. Being able to represent your people was another reason this experience was so important to me”.

NICC Women’s Final Match Report

NICC Men’s Final Match Report

Sydney Thunder’s Indigenous side have played the Hobart Hurricanes in a three match series and the Kenyan Under 19 side this season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *